BREEAM has made certifications that are adjusted to different types of building and their location, and gives points to the building in the following categories:

Pollution, management, water, energy, materials, health and well-being, transport, waste, use of area and ecology. The diagram below shows how the various categories are weighted.

Danish standards

BREEAM is adjusted to European conditions and is based on country and/or European standards.

Danish standards are used for certification of a building in Denmark, which makes the process easier, but makes it more difficult to compare certified buildings internationally.

BREEAM certification can be used for both new and existing buildings.

See also



LEED's point system indicates the extent of sustainability in a building.

Read more


Schæffergården refurbished, Denmark

Schæffergården conference centre in Charlottenlund has been refurbished by MT Højgaard, including modernising and expanding the restaurant.

Read more about the project



Energy-saving construction with a pleasant indoor climate. These are the ingredients of a good domicile.

Read more